Music for Sale

The consumption of music continues.  The format may have changed through the years:  vinyl, tape, CD, and digital files.  And if you think paid streaming is something totally new, well, this idea is kind of like a modern twist on jukebox.  That’s right, people used to put coins in a jukebox to listen to music on demand.

Say It or Save It

Did we miss your favorites in any of the following directories?  If so, go to our Contact page and tell us about it.  You’ll feel better afterwards.

 

Music for Sale

The consumption of music continues.  The format may have changed through the years:  vinyl, tape, CD, and digital files.  And if you think paid streaming is something totally new, well, this idea is kind of like a modern twist on jukebox.  That’s right, people used to put coins in a jukebox to listen to music on demand.

Say It or Save It

Did we miss your favorites in any of the following directories?  If so, go to our Contact page and tell us about it.  You’ll feel better afterwards.

 

Labels

 

Dance/Electronic Record Companies

With few exceptions, the labels in the following directory have each released at least one record that made our Megamix page since 2001.

 

Label/Imprint/
Artist Founder(s) or Co-founder(s)
Web Site

North America
Amathus Music amathusmusic.com
Arkade Records
: Kaskade
arkaderecords.com
Audacious Records
: Dave Aude
audaciousrecords.com
Banzai Recs
: Henry Fong
banzairecs.com
Big Beat Records
: Craig Kallman (Kraze)
wearebigbeat.com
Buygore
: Borgore
buygore.com
Casablanca Records casablanca-music.com
Cherrytree Records
: Cherry Cherry Boom Boom
cherrytreemusiccompany.com
Crowd Records
: Aiden Jude
crowd-records.com
Curvve Recordings
: Vinny Troia
curvverecordings.com
Dauman Music daumanmusic.com
Deeplife Records deepliferecords.com
Desert Hearts deserthearts.us
DFA Records
: James Goldsworthy (Unkle)
: James Murphy (LCD Soundsystem)
dfarecords.com
Dim Mak Records
: Steve Aoki
dimmak.com
Dirtybird Records
: Claude VonStroke
dirtybirdrecords.com
Fool's Gold Records
: A-Trak
foolsgoldrecs.com
Good Game Records facebook.com/goodgamerecords
Insomniac Records insomniacrecords.com
Juicy Music
: Robbie Rivera
juicymusic.net
Kid Coconut
: Michael Brun
kidcoconutofficial.com
Kindergarten Recordings
: Wolfgang Gartner
kindergartenrecordings.com
King Street Sounds kingstreetsounds.com
KULT Records kult.com
Liftoff Recordings
: Disco Fries
soundcloud.com/liftoffrecordings
Mad Decent
: Diplo
maddecent.com
Made Records maderecords.com
Matador Records matadorrecords.com
Mau5trap
: Deadmau5
mau5trap.com
Monstercat monstercat.com
Murk Records
: Oscar G
: Ralph Falcon
murkrecords.com
Nervous Records nervousnyc.com
Nettwerk Records
: Mark Jowett (Moev)
nettwerk.com
Neutone Recordings facebook.com/neutonerecordings
Next Plateau Entertainment nextplateauent.com
Om Records omrecords.com
Ovum Recordings
: Josh Wink
: King Britt
ovum-rec.com
OWSLA
: Skrillex
owsla.com
Panda Funk
: Deorro
pandafunk.com
Prodigy Records prodigymusicgroup.com
Radikal Records radikal.com
Razor & Tie razorandtie.com
Robbins Entertainment robbinsent.com
Solmatic Records
: David Garcia
: Richard Vission
solmaticrecords.com
Spotted Records
: Nathan Kay
spottedrecords.com
Star 69 Records
: Peter Rauhofer
facebook.com/star69
Stealth Records
: Roger Sanchez
rogersanchez.com
Sub Pop Records subpop.com
Subliminal Records
: Erick Morillo
subliminalrecords.com
System Recordings systemrecordings.com
Tazmania Records tazmaniarecords.com
Thrive Music twitter.com/thrivemusic
Tommy Boy Entertainment tommyboy.com
Track Team Records facebook.com/trackteamrecords
Trina Music
: Giuseppe D.
trinaent.com
Twisted Records twistedrecords.com
UBL2 Music ubl2music.com
Ultra Music ultramusic.com
Uppercase Records uppercaserecords.com
Water Music Records watermusicrecords.com
Yoshitoshi Recordings
: Deep Dish
yoshitoshi.com

Europe
All Around the World aatw.com
Anjunabeats
: Above & Beyond
anjunabeats.com
Anjunadeep
: Above & Beyond
anjunadeep.com
Armada Music
: Armin van Buuren
armadamusic.com
Aropa Records
: Dash Berlin
armadamusic.com/label/aropa-records
Astralwerks astralwerks.com
AVA Recordings
: Andy Moor
avarecordings.com
Axtone Records
: Axwell
axtone.com
Black Butter Records black-butter.com
Black Hole Recordings
: Tiesto
blackholerecordings.com
Blanco y Negro blancoynegro.com
BOSO
: Ten Walls
bosolab.com
Clipper's Sounds clipperssounds.org
Cobalt Music cobaltmusic.gr
Coldharbour Recordings
: Markus Schulz
coldharbourrecordings.com
Counter Records counterrecords.com
CR2 Records
: MYNC
cr2records.com
Darklight Recordings
: Fedde Le Grand
darklightrecordings.com
Deconstruction Records
: Mike Pickering (M People)
columbia.co.uk
Defected defected.com
Diffused Music
: Michael Woods
diffusedmusic.com
Do It Yourself Multimedia Group doityourself.it
Doorn Records
: Sander van Doorn
pro.beatport.com/label/doorn-spinnin/7980
d:vision energyprod.it
Enhanced Music
: Tritonal (co-owners)
enhancedmusic.com
Fame Recordings
: Mischa Daniels
armadamusic.com/label/fame-recordings
FFRR Records
: Pete Tong
ffrrrecords.com
Flamingo Recordings
: Funkerman
: Fedde Le Grand
flamingorecordings.com
Flashover Recordings
: Ferry Corsten
flashoverrecordings.com
Fly Eye Records
: Calvin Harris
flyeyerecords.com
Future Sound of Egypt
: Aly & Fila
futuresoundofegypt.com
Garuda Music
: Gareth Emery
garethemery.com
Global Underground globalunderground.co.uk
Heldeep Records
: Oliver Heldens
twitter.com/heldeeprecords
Hospital Records
: Tony Colman (London Elektricity)
hospitalrecords.com
Houseworks Records
: DJ Antoine
: Mad Mark
globalproductions.ch
Hysteria Records hysteriarecs.com
ICONS Music facebook.com/iconsmusicofficial
Jack Back Records
: David Guetta
: Nicky Romero
jackback.com
Kittball Records
: Tube & Berger
: Juliet Sikora
kittball.com
Kontor Records kontorrecords.de
LE7ELS
: Avicii
facebook.com/le7elsofficial
LouLou Records
: LouLou Players
: Kolombo
loulourecords.com
Major Toms
: Rudimental
wearemajortoms.com
Method Records
: Disclosure
soundcloud.com/methodrecords
Milk & Sugar Recordings
: Milk & Sugar
milkandsugar.de
Millia Records
: Yves Larock
milliarecords.com
Ministry of Sound ministryofsound.com
Mixmash Records
: Laidback Luke
mixmashrecords.com
Monday Records soundcloud.com/monday-records
Mostiko mostiko.be
MTA Records
: Chase & Status
mtarecords.co.uk
Musical Freedom
: Tiesto
musicalfreedom.com
New World Punx Music
: New World Punx
newworldpunx.com
Ninja Tune
: Coldcut
ninjatune.net
NoCopyrightSounds nocopyrightsounds.co.uk
Noculan Records noculan.com
Organized Nature
: Gabriel & Dresden
armadamusic.com/label/organized-nature
Perfecto Records
: Paul Oakenfold
perfectorecords.net
Pornostar Records pornostarrecords.com
Positiva Records positivarecords.com
PRMD Music
: Ash
prmd.com
Protocol Recordings
: Nicky Romero
protocolrecordings.com
Pryda Recordings
: Eric Prydz
ericprydz.tv
Refune Music
: Sebastian Ingrosso
refune.com
Revealed Recordings
: Hardwell
revealedrecordings.com
Rising Music
: Chris Lake
risingmusic.co.uk
Roton Music roton.ro
The Saifam Group saifam.com
Sirup Music
: DJ Tatana (?)
facebook.com/sirupmusic
Size Records
: Steve Angello
size.net
Smash the House
: Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike
facebook.com/smashthehouse
So Much Dada
: Dada Life
somuchdada.com
Soma Records
: Slam
somarecords.com
Southern Fried Records
: Fatboy Slim
southernfriedrecords.com
Spearhead Records
: BCee
spearheadrecords.co.uk
Spinnin’ Records spinninrecords.com
Stoney Boy Music
: StoneBridge
stoneyboy.com
Strictly Rhythm strictly.com
Sunrise Records facebook.com/sunriserec
3 Beat Music 3beat.co.uk
TONSPIEL facebook.com/tonspielofficial
Toolroom Records
: Mark Knight
toolroomrecords.com
UpNorth Recordings
: CLMD
upnorthrecordings.com
VANDIT Records
: Paul van Dyk
vandit.com
Viper Recordings
: Futurebound
viperrecordings.co.uk
Wall Recordings
: Afrojack
twitter.com/wallrecordings
What a Music
: David Guetta
davidguetta.com
XL Recordings xlrecordings.com
Xtravaganza Recordings
: Alex Gold
xtravaganza.co.uk
Yellow Productions
: Bob Sinclar
yellowprod.fr
Zooland Records
: Manian (Spencer & Hill)
: Yanou
zooland-records.de
ZYX Music zyxmusic.com

Australia/New Zealand
Eclypse Records
: Feenixpawl
: Jason Forte
eclypserecords.com
405 Recordings 405recordings.com
Future Classic futureclassic.com.au
Phazing Records
: Dirty South
facebook.com/phazingrecords
Xelon Entertainment xelonentertainment.com

 

Stores

 

Music Retailers

The retailers and e-retailers below offer physical records and/or digital downloads.  This directory represents a sampling of some of the most popular or acclaimed stores in the U.S. and around the world.  CDs may have ended the reign of vinyl records, but vinyl somehow managed to survive.  Note that after hitting rock bottom in 2005, vinyl records have made a steady comeback.  Vinyl record sales in 2014 are the highest since 1990; turntable sales are up too.  As CD sales continue to decline, Target will either stop selling CDs or start stocking new vinyl releases in the next five years.  Stay tuned.

And then we noticed the following on page 16 of Target’s weekly circular for October 18-24, 2015.

 


build your vinyl collection at Target.com
buy one, get one 50% off
on hundreds of vinyl
albums at Target.com/vinyl

 

Russ Solomon should have saved a few Tower Records stores in California.  Check out “All Things Must Pass” (towerrecordsmovie.com).

 


Attention, Independent Record Stores!
If you’d like to advertise on this site for free, speak up.

 

Retailer Web Site Physical Store(s)

North America

California
Amoeba Music amoeba.com Berkeley, Hollywood, San Francisco
Aquarius Records aquariusrecords.org San Francisco
As the Record Turns astherecordturns.com Hollywood
Atomic Records atomicrecordsla.com Burbank
Boo Boo Records booboorecords.com San Luis Obispo
Caveman Vintage caveman-vintage.com Los Angeles
Fingerprints fingerprintsmusic.com Long Beach
Freakbeat Records freakbeatrecords.com Sherman Oaks
Gimme Gimme Records gimmegimmerecords.com Los Angeles
Jacknife Records & Tapes jackniferecordsandtapes.com Los Angeles
The Last Bookstore lastbookstorela.com Los Angeles
Lou’s Records lousrecords.com Encinitas
Mono Records monorecordsla.com Los Angeles
Mount Analog climbmountanalog.com Los Angeles
Origami Vinyl origamiorigami.com Los Angeles
Permanent Records Los Angeles permanentrecordsla.com Los Angeles
PooBah Records poobah.com Pasadena
Rasputin Music rasputinmusic.com 12 in Northern Calif.
Record Outlet recordoutlet.com Thousand Oaks
Record Surplus recordsurplusla.com Los Angeles
Rockaway Records rockaway.com Los Angeles
Salzer’s Records salzers.com Ventura
Streetlight Records streetlightrecords.com San Jose, Santa Cruz
Touch Vinyl touchvinyl.com Los Angeles
Vacation Vinyl vacationvinyl.com Los Angeles
Wombleton Records wombletonrecords.com Los Angeles

Central Canada
Atom Heart atomheart.ca Montreal
Encore Records encorerecords.ca Kitchener, Ontario
Vortex Records vortexrecords.ca Toronto

Florida
Bananas Music musicfinder.com St. Petersburg
Daddy Kool Records daddykool.com St. Petersburg
Microgroove microgroovetampa.co Tampa
Planet Retro Records planetretrorecords.com St. Petersburg

Mid-Atlantic
A.K.A. Music akamusicphilly.com Philadelphia
Double Decker Records doubledeckerrecords.com Allentown, Pa.
Jerry’s Records jerrysrecords.com Pittsburgh, Pa.
Princeton Record Exchange prex.com Princeton, N.J.
Siren Records sirenrecords.com Doylestown, Pa.
The Sound Garden cdjoint.com Baltimore, Md.; Syracuse, N.Y.
The True Vine thetruevinerecordshop.com Baltimore, Md.
Vintage Vinyl Records vvinyl.com Fords, N.J.

Midwest
Dave’s Records davesrecordschicago.com Chicago
Dusty Groove dustygroove.com Chicago
The Electric Fetus electricfetus.com Duluth, Minneapolis
Encore Records encorerecordsa2.com Ann Arbor, Mich.
Gramaphone Records gramaphonerecords.com Chicago
Hymie’s Vintage Records hymiesrecords.com Minneapolis
Indy CD & Vinyl indycdandvinyl.com Indianapolis
Jazz Record Mart jazzmart.com Chicago
Laurie’s Planet of Sound lauriesplanetofsound.com Chicago
Melodies & Memories melodiesandmemories.com Eastpointe, Mich.
Peoples Records peoplesdetroit.com Detroit
Permanent Records Chicago permanentrecordschicago.com Chicago
Reckless Records Chicago reckless.com Chicago
Rolling Stones Records rollingstonesmusic.com Norridge, Ill.
Shake It Records shakeitrecords.com Cincinnati, Ohio
Vintage Vinyl vintagevinyl.com St. Louis

Mountain
Black & Read blackandread.net Arvada, Colo.
Independent Records & Video beindependent.com Colorado Springs, Fountain, Pueblo
Twist & Shout Records twistandshout.com Denver
Wax Trax Records waxtraxrecords.com Denver

New England
Newbury Comics newburycomics.com 26 in New England

New York
Academy Records & CDs academy-records.com New York
A1 Record Shop a1recordshop.com New York
Black Gold Records blackgoldbrooklyn.com New York
Bleecker Street Records bleeckerstreetrecordsnyc.com New York
The Bop Shop bopshop.com Rochester
Clockwork Records clockworkrecordsny.com Hastings-on-Hudson
Deadly Dragon Sound System deadlydragonsound.com New York
Dope Jams dopejams.net Oak Hill
Generation Records generationrecords.com New York
The House of Guitars houseofguitars.com Rochester
Human Head Records humanheadnyc.com New York
Last Vestige Music Shop lastvestige.com Albany
Music Matters musicmattersny.com Niagara Falls, North Tonawanda
Permanent Records permanentrecords.info New York
Record Grouch recordgrouch.com New York
Rough Trade NYC roughtradenyc.com New York
Stray Vintage strayvintage.wordpress.com New York
Turntable Lab turntablelab.com New York

Pacific Northwest
Easy Street Records easystreetonline.com Seattle
Everyday Music everydaymusic.com Beaverton, Portland, Bellingham, Seattle
Hot Poop hotpoop.com Walla Walla, Wash.
Jackpot Records jackpotrecords.com Portland, Ore.
Jive Time Records jivetimerecords.com Seattle
Mississippi Records littleaxerecords.com Portland, Ore.
Music Millennium musicmillennium.com Portland, Ore.
Sonic Boom Records sonicboomrecords.com Seattle

South
Arkansas Record-CD Exchange arcd.com North Little Rock, Ark.
Fantasyland Records fantasylandrecords.com Atlanta
Goner Records goner-records.com Memphis
Grimey’s New & Preloved Music grimeys.com Nashville
Shangri-La Records shangri.com Memphis
Underground Sounds twitter.com/usoundsky Louisville
Wuxtry Records wuxtry-records.com Athens, Decatur

Southwest
Revolver Records revolveraz.com Phoenix, Tempe

Texas
Antone’s Record Shop antonesrecordshop.com Austin
Bill’s Records billsrecords.com Dallas
End of an Ear endofanear.com Austin
Forever Young Records foreveryoungrecords.com Grand Prairie
Waterloo Records waterloorecords.com Austin

Multiple Regions
Barnes & Noble barnesandnoble.com 640 in the U.S.
Best Buy bestbuy.com 1,400+ in the U.S.
Cracker Barrel crackerbarrel.com 630+ in the U.S.
f.y.e. fye.com 300+ in the U.S.
Hastings gohastings.com 125+ in the U.S.
HMV hmv.ca 100+ in Canada
Target target.com 1,800 in the U.S.
Walmart walmart.com 5,000+ in the U.S.

Web-only
Amazon.com amazon.com N/A
Apple iTunes itunes.com N/A
ArkivMusic arkivmusic.com N/A
Bandcamp bandcamp.com N/A
Beatport beatport.com N/A
CD Baby cdbaby.com N/A
CD Universe cduniverse.com N/A
Classical Archives classicalarchives.com N/A
Discogs discogs.com N/A
eBay ebay.com N/A
eMusic emusic.com N/A
HDtracks hdtracks.com N/A
iMesh imesh.com N/A
MAQAM maqam.com N/A
MusicStack musicstack.com N/A
Other Music othermusic.com N/A
Tower.com tower.com N/A
Traxsource traxsource.com N/A
Vinyl Me, Please vinylmeplease.com N/A

Latin America
Exiles Records exilesrecords.com Buenos Aires
Retroactivo Records retroactivorecords.com.mx Mexico City
Tower Records Mexico towerrecords.com.mx Mexico City, Monterrey, Puebla

Europe
Casbah Records casbahrecords.co.uk London
Cob Records cobrecords.com Porthmadog, Wales
Concerto concerto.nl Amsterdam
La Face Cachee la-face-cachee.com Metz, France
Keltainen Jaansarkija kolumbus.fi/levykauppa Helsinki
Kingbee Records kingbeerecords.co.uk Manchester, England
Love Music lovemusicglasgow.com Glasgow, Scotland
Monorail Music monorailmusic.com Glasgow, Scotland
Pet Sounds petsounds.se Stockholm
Piccadilly Records piccadillyrecords.com Manchester, England
Plattfon Records plattfon.ch Basel
Pushkinskaya 10 p-10.ru St. Petersburg
Reckless Records reckless.co.uk London
The Record Spot therecordspot.com Dublin
Rough Trade roughtrade.com London, Nottingham
Rumpsti Pumsti rumpsti-pumsti.com Berlin
6pack Records 6pack.ch Zurich
Souffle Continu soufflecontinu.com Paris
Sound It out Records sounditoutrecords.co.uk Stockton-on-Tees, England
Southsea’s Pie & Vinyl pieandvinyl.co.uk Southsea, England
Spacehall spacehall.de Berlin
Spillers Records spillersrecords.co.uk Cardiff, Wales
Tower Records Ireland towerrecords.ie Dublin
12 Tonar 12tonar.is Reykjavik
Wanted Records wantedrecords.co.uk Bristol, England

Multiple Regions
HMV hmv.com 120+ in the U.K.
Sainsbury’s sainsburys.co.uk 1,200+ in the U.K.
Tesco tesco.com 3,500+ in the U.K.
That’s Entertainment musicmagpie.co.uk 20+ in the U.K.

Web-only
Bleep bleep.com N/A
Busstop Records busstop-records.co.uk N/A
Jamendo jamendo.com N/A
Juno Records juno.co.uk N/A
7digital 7digital.com N/A

Asia
Disk Union diskunion.net Japan
Flake Records flakerecords.com Osaka, Japan
Mora mora.jp Japan
Purple Record purplerecord.com Seoul
RECOfan recofan.co.jp Japan
Tower Records Japan tower.jp 80+ in Japan

Australia/New Zealand
Greville Records grevillerecords.com.au Prahran, Victoria

Africa
Mabu Vinyl mabuvinyl.co.za Cape Town

 

Streaming

 

Music Streaming Services

As streaming revenues continue to grow—while downloads seem to have peaked in 2012—subscription-based streaming may turn out to be consumers’ preferred way to pay for music.  In countries where Spotify made its debut first, streaming accounts for over 90 percent of digital revenue.  This is where other markets, including the U.S., may be headed.

Vinyl records ruled for decades, then CDs came along and took over for 15 to 20 years, a much shorter reign than the music industry had anticipated.  Everything moves at warped speed in the digital world.  If current trends continue, we’ll look back and see that digital downloads only enjoyed a good 10-year run at best.  Most of the following streaming services are based on subscription or freemium (free and premium options).

 

Streaming Service Web Site Paying Customers
(million)

North America
Amazon Music Unlimited amazon.com/amazonmusicunlimited  
Apple Music apple.com/music 30
Google Play Music play.google.com/music  
Groove microsoft.com/groove  
Napster ca.napster.com  
Pandora Plus pandora.com/one 3.9
Rhapsody rhapsody.com 3.5*
YouTube Red youtube.com/red  

Europe
Deezer deezer.com 3.8
Napster de.napster.com
gb.napster.com
fr.napster.com
14 others
 
Qobuz qobuz.com  
Rara rara.com  
Rdio pandora.com  
SoundCloud Go soundcloud.com/go  
Spotify spotify.com 60
TIDAL tidal.com 4.2
Yandex.Music music.yandex.ru  0.25
Zvooq zvooq.ru  

Middle East/Asia
Alibaba alibaba.com  
Anghami anghami.com  
AWA awa.fm  
Baidu baidu.com  
Gaana.com gaana.com  
JOOX joox.com  
KKBOX kkbox.com
Line Music music.line.me  
NetEase Cloud Music music.163.com  
QQ Music y.qq.com  
Raaga raaga.com  
Saavn saavn.com 20

Australia/New Zealand
BABOOM baboom.com  
Guvera guvera.com 15

 

* Includes Napster customers.

Playlist

 

A playlist while you browse:

  • Raspberries – Overnight Sensation (Hit Record) (1974) []
  • Pete Wingfield – Eighteen With a Bullet (1975) []
  • Dead or Alive – You Spin Me Round (Like a Record) (1985) []
  • Blake Lewis – Heartbreak on Vinyl (2010) []

Cool Web Surfers Don't Cut and Paste

Would you like to share this Web page with friends? Don't cut and paste. Provide a Web link to this page or refer to its Web address. We invite all content providers to join our Don't Cut and Paste campaign.

 

Copyright © 2002-2017 Calba Media LLC. All rights reserved.